Artlink’s building, one of several homes we’ve had over the years, was originally part of the Princes Avenue Wesleyan Chapel and known as ‘the school room’. Built on the Newland Tofts farm, the church opened in November 1905, but the foundation for the school room was laid in 1911. Gelder and Kitchen were the architects, with Sir William Alfred Gelder being one of the most prominent citizens of Hull. The style is reminiscent of Charles Rennie Mackintosh and its features showcase the ‘modern’ movement away from the Victorian style.
In 1995, all but the tower of the church was demolished but the school room survived. It was sold to Artlink and refurbished by Quibell & Son as our new home from 2007 onwards.